Jake Went to Heaven Today


Jake joined Zack in Heaven today (April 17, 2017 @ 4:32 pm). He was 14 1/2 years old.

Instead of having blood & urine labs done to rule out cancer, diabetes, kidney, liver, or thyroid disease, my husband & I decided to do the humane thing before Jake started suffering. He has had several accidents out of the litter box, he chewed the hair off the inside of his front legs, he was down to 6 1/2 lbs, and there were other symptoms as well.

I realize Jake might have had something treatable, but (1) would we be able to afford it and (2) would he have prolonged quality of life? I didn’t want him to be like Elliott, my first cat, who had surgery for cancer and then died 2 months later from liver cancer. Nor did I want him to be like Zack who had blood work & x-rays done and then didn’t come home w/us.

Our awesome 8-year-old granddaughter was at the Vet w/me. She made this for me when she spent the night w/us. . . .

In honor of our little miracle, here are my favorite photos. . . .

Leave a Reply

