My Need to Vent


vs. an article titled, “Desperately Seeking Silence” published by vetSTREET. I feel like Tessie when the last apartment community we lived at in Oklahoma threatened to evict us, because she was barking too much and causing neighbors to lose sleep.

Barking is a normal behavior and one way that dogs communicate with us and with each other. Why do dogs bark? For lots of reasons: to gain attention, to make contact, in play, in greeting, and as a warning. In addition, many dogs bark when they are anxious, frustrated, or distressed. Increased barking or other attention-seeking behaviors could also mean the dog is in pain or not feeling well. Before you assume a behavioral issue, schedule an appointment with your veterinarian to rule out medical issues – especially for a normally quiet dog who suddenly starts barking or seeming more agitated than normal.

~ HealthyPet – Winter 2014

(1) Seattle is a big city. They still have Kmart’s, but where are all the restaurants from places we’ve lived? I miss our favorite fast food restaurants like Der Wienerschnitzel (1 in Everett, WA), Filiberto’s (Arizona), In-N-Out (AZ, CA, NV, TX, & UT), Tacos Don Nacho (Oklahoma), and The Hat (California). My husband can’t find beef ribs like Lucille’s Smokehouse Bar-B-Que (AZ, CA, & NV), and he misses his favorite steak restaurants like Longhorn Steakhouse (Oklahoma), Saltgrass Steak House (CO, LA, NV, OK, & TX), and Steer ‘N Stein (California). I miss my Pad Thai at Pei Wei (In 25 states but not WA). And, what about some really good Italian restaurants like Johnny Carino’s (1 in Skagit Valley, WA), Vince’s Spaghetti (California), and Zio’s Italian Kitchen (CO, KS, MO, NM, OK, & TX).

(2) I’m so tired of small and/or family owned companies. Why do people think they have to micro-manage other people? I’m not in Kindergarten anymore! I don’t know if it’s just Seattle, the economy, or a presidential election year, but trying to find a permanent job w/benefits is like pulling teeth.

(3) Why do people have to be in such a doggone hurry & rude, too? Is that just a West Coast thing?

(4) You know what they say, “The grass isn’t always greener on the other side of the fence.” Well, it is green in Washington, but I gave up a really good job in Oklahoma to move here. It seemed like a good idea at the time. Our granddaughter is 6 going on 21, and we wanted her to get to know us (& vice versa). Little did we know it was going to be such a bad luck move (breaking my ankle) and an expensive one, too.

I’ve been taking the Blogging 201 course, and our Day 10 assignment is to create a poll or survey. This is a great course to learn how to fine-tune your blog. So, don’t worry about hurting my feelings if you vote for me instead of Tessie. Haha! And, a big thank you to all who read this blog post. 🙂

8 thoughts on “My Need to Vent

  1. Kelli says:

    Unless you have been threatened with eviction for shouting and upsetting the neighbors I’m going with Tessie. Poor thing. We had a 75 lb couch hound who could not be outside more than 3 minutes to do her business before barking her fool head off and upsetting the neighbors too, I know your pain.

    I’ll have you know that as someone in Phx I had never been to Lucille’s Smokehouse BBQ but I will quickly fix that! Hope Seattle gets better!

    Like

  2. VacationsOnEarth.net says:

    I hope the coffee is still great where you are 🙂 It sounds like you may just need a good cuppa or a bottle of wine. All the best with settling in and hoping everything goes from strength to strength. The special thing is your grandchild will have you close by and nothing in the world could be more meaningful right now.

    Like

    • Red says:

      The wine sounds pretty good right now, but there are lots of good coffee shops (Starbuck’s, Tully’s, & drive-thru coffee places like BigFoot Java). And yes, you are so right! Our granddaughter is the reason we moved. She makes me forget about all my worries. Thank you!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Sarah's Attic of Treasures (Includes Stories From Our Neck Of The Woods) says:

    We don’t have many choices for restaurants near us either. Certainly none that we want to visit when we just need to get away from the house and yard….we live and work at a state park…
    There are 2 good steak houses but they don’t open until 4PM. We like to go to town, eat then go to Walmart.
    I also left you a message on your Goodbye in 201. I decided to come and find you right away. So until later…have a good rest of the weekend. Sarah

    Like

  4. DSP says:

    I grew up in Tacoma, played in Seattle and it has always been that way. I remember when concerts only came to Oregon and California. I did say concerts, not artists, lol. It’s always been a little slow on the draw. The job thing is everywhere, so I’ll be sending good vibes your way. Hope things get better. DSP

    Like

Leave a Reply

