Old Habits Aren’t Forgotten


I signed up for Blogging U’s 3-week Blogging 101 course. Our first assignment is to write and publish a “who I am and why I’m here” post. So, I looked at what I wrote when I started blogging in 2012.

Can I Retire Yet? The older I get, the more I think about this question. I want to sleep in, lounge around the house, spend time with our grandchildren, write a children’s book…. Until that time comes though, I enjoy cooking, crafts, gardening, photography, reading; and of course, spending time with our pets. If you’re like me, your pets are part of your family.

What’s life without pets? My blog will offer advice, helpful links, and funny stories for man’s best friend and our feline companions.

That is all still true, but I think I’ve gotten away from what I love . . . photography & writing. It’s more about attaching cute or funny web images and quoting articles. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I started my blog to keep my mind active. You see, my Mom has Alzheimer’s, and I’m scared to death of getting this awful disease like millions of other people. Don’t worry . . . the cute/funny web images and quotes won’t stop, but there might be less of them.

~ So, old habits aren’t forgotten by humans or pets.

It was so cute! While Casey was licking his paws, Jake jumped up in my lap. He usually curls up and goes to sleep; but instead, Jake went and sat in front of Casey. Then, he bowed his head down, wanting Casey to lick his head. Casey didn’t understand though. He just looked at me . . . Ugh Mom, why is Jake being chummy with me?

You see, Jake used to do this with Zack, and Zack would give Jake his Mr. Wethead look. But gosh, that was two and a half years ago.

So then, Jake just layed down by Casey, stretching one paw out touching Casey’s leg. Casey flinched and then jumped down off the couch. Here’s Jake & Casey sleeping side-by-side.

2 thoughts on “Old Habits Aren’t Forgotten

  1. Celeste's Quiet Ramblings says:

    Great post. I completely understand, that is a reason for me as well, more of a silent reason. My mother suffers from early onset dementia, so I try to read more often she now I’m adding writing into the mix. Welcome and glad you’re taking this course with us all😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

