Update ~ New Food Transition


I almost panicked and wrote this post on Day 10:

Title ~
Stop Transition ~ Change Back to Old Food

Hints ~
▪ Drinking twice as much water
▪ Projectile diarrhea twice
▪ Pink raw spots under chin

Q: How will I know exactly what food my pet is allergic to?
A: Most patients will have an adverse reaction, such as a flare of red, itchy skin, within 24-48 hours of being exposed to the offending allergen, but some patients may take up to 10 days.

Q: How will I know my pet is having a reaction to a food ingredient?
A: Usually within hours to just a few days your pet will have relapsed with skin problems as it was prior to feeding the new diet.

Lesson learned ~
Just because my husband wants me to put Casey on a less expensive brand of dog food is not enough reason to switch him to a new grain-free dog food . . . especially when his old food (Fromm Grain-Free Pork & Peas) had his allergies at least 90% under control (occasional chin flare-ups & paws). So, I am not going to put him thru another 8-week trial and a possible trip to the Vet. It looks like I can add fish to his Do Not Feed List.

I can return the Victor Grain-Free Yukon River for a refund. I think the smarter thing to do is to find a reasonably priced dog food for Tessie. That way, Casey’s food will last longer.

Q: What are the most common food allergens?
A: Beef, chicken, wheat, corn, soy, dairy, egg, and fish.

Q: How will I know the diet is working?
A: Your pet will no longer relapse with secondary infection or suffer from pruritus by the end of the 8-12 week dietary trial.

Q: Can there be more than one ingredient my pet is allergic to?
A: Usually there is just one ingredient; but on occasion, a patient will have multiple food allergens. For this reason, you should proceed with the entire challenge set forth by the veterinary dermatologist.

http://www.dermvets.com/faq-diettrial.html

But then on Day 14, I started noticing some good things.
• Casey’s coat is really soft. Is he shedding less, too?
• Casey still eats fast, but he’s not throwing his head back & still chewing.
• Casey’s bowl starts in the dining room and ends up in the kitchen as he eats.
• No food guarding or aggression

Bad Things ~
◆ Stools go back & forth between firm & loose
◆ Waking up to a vibrating back massage from Casey’s excessive biting & licking of his paws
◆ Pink raw spots under his chin
◆ Wrapping one of his back paws

Are the bad things really food-related, strictly carpet allergies, and/or compulsive behavior? The chin could be from rubbing on the carpet and/or scratching, both of which I’ve seen him do. How do you not have carpet unless you own your home and replace it with tile or wood flooring?

It’s hard to know what to do when I really don’t know what Casey is allergic to besides carpet. Our Vet in OKC recommended not spending the money for allergy testing, since carpet does not show up on an allergy test. He also didn’t think Casey had food allergies. Maybe he doesn’t; but then, why were his symptoms more intense when he ate chicken, turkey, or duck? He may or may not be allergic to ingredients like grains & potatoes. And, I know Fromm Pork & Peas is a good food for him to be on, since that was the food he was on when we discovered that carpet is his #1 allergy.

Bottom Line ~
I’m halfway thru my Victor food trial and getting low on food. I think it would be in Casey’s best interest to take a short road trip towards Mt. Ranier and visit the Feed Store in Enumclaw for their recommendations. When I talked to them on the phone, they said they could load me up on samples. I hope I will like them as much as the Feed Store I shopped at in OKC.

b7819ff7-7364-4730-a009-32615b6fbe33

Leave a Reply

