Yummy Sweet Potato Treats


Sweet potato, sweet potato, sweet potato...here we come!

Sweet potato, sweet potato, sweet potato . . . here we come ready or not!

Sweet potato treats are expensive, so I decided to invest in a dehydrator. I got a great deal on a Nesco American Harvest FD-61 Snackmaster Encore Dehydrator/Jerky Maker at Overstock.com.

Here are the links where I found how to dehydrate:
Oven or Dehydrator
Prep & Storage

And, here are images of my dehydrated sweet potato treats:

Before I started dehydrating, I was buying Sam’s Yam’s by Front Porch Pets. They were expensive though ($17 for a 1 lb bag). Now, I buy a bag of sweet potatoes at Sam’s Club for $5, and it makes 2 batches.

My tip for dehydrating sweet potatoes:
After making 3 or 4 batches, I found that if I microwave the rinsed & dried sweet potatoes for 2 – 5 minutes, they’re easier to slice. I like to slice them thick. Next, I blanch (or soak) the sweet potato slices in cold water for 5 minutes, which keeps the color. Then, I place the slices on the trays, making sure they don’t overlap, and dehydrate for 12 hours.

Leave a Reply

