I Want a Big Brother


I imagine if Tessie, our Miniature Schnauzer, could talk, this is what she would say to us.

Mom and Dad, I know you miss Zack. I miss him, too! I miss stealing his sticks in the backyard, trying to eat his food and mine, snuggling with him during nap time and at bedtime. And remember, how he liked to clean my ears. Even Jake used to go lay in front of him for his Mr. Wethead look.

If I had a new big brother, I’d have someone to play with while you and Dad are at work all day. Jake only wants to play with me a little, and then he sleeps all day. I cry when I see big doggies. Please, please, please let me have a big brother!

I was inspired to write this after reading a blog post titled “The Dina Years – The End.” It made me realize my husband and I are being selfish. Dogs thrive on companionship as much as us humans.

So, I started searching for Tessie’s new brother, and I brought him home today. He gave Tessie a kiss when I introduced them. Here’s our five-week old Golden Retriever puppy. He’s a tired little boy!

image

2 thoughts on “I Want a Big Brother

Leave a Reply

